About Hohe Tauern

The Hohe Tauern national park is the largest national park of the alps. The Hohe Tauern national park spans 100km from east to wheat and over 40km from north to south, with a total area of over 1800km2.  Hohe Tauern park is located among 3 Austrian states. Salzburg, Tyrol and Carinthia.

Hohe Tauern national park is divided in to 2 zones, the core zone and the outer zone. In the core zone conservation of nature is given the highest priority, in this zone you can find numerus endangered species of plants and animals as well as the highest mountain of Austria the Grossglockner.

The Hohe Tauern national park offers some great natural specials. Such as, over 300 mountain peaks over 3000 meters above sea level, 342 glaciers, 279 streams, 26 major waterfalls and 551 mountain lakes larger as 27 ha. Some well-known sights in the Hohe Tauern are: Krimml waterfall, Umbalfälle, Franz-Josefs-Hohe, the Grossglockner alpine road and Kaprun.

You also might like: Salzkammergut